University of Delaware logo

Professional Development Center for Educators


The University of Delaware has had long-standing partnerships with local schools and districts in Delaware and surrounding areas. We provide professional development for educators through a variety of channels.

The PDCE has incorporated several projects, programs and centers to create one cohesive unit.

Our partners have gained extensive practical knowledge in creating lesson plans, managing classrooms, data assessment, building leadership skills, etc.

English Language Arts

Public Schools:

  • Shue-Medill Middle School – Reciprocal Teaching
  • Gauger Middle School – Reciprocal Teaching
  • Kirk Middle School – Reciprocal Teaching
  • Central Middle School – Aligning Assessments to SBAC/CCSS:
  • WM Henry Middle School – Aligning Assessments to SBAC/CCSS:
  • Dover High School – Aligning Assessments to SBAC/CCSS:
  • Red Clay School District elementary schools – Aligning Assessments to SBAC/CCSS

Charter Schools:

  • East Side Charter School – Aligning Assessments to SBAC/CCSS, Implementing Guided/Small Group Reading
  • Thomas Edison Charter School – Implementing Guided/Small Group Reading
  • ASPIRA Academy – Components of a Balanced Literacy Program

Independent Schools:

  • Caravel – Implementing Writing Workshop


Public Schools:

  • New Castle County – Appoquinimink, Brandywine, Christina, Colonial, Red Clay Consolidated and New Castle County Vo-Tech
  • Kent County – Caesar Rodney, Capital, Lake Forest, Milford, Smyrna and Polytech Vo-Tech
  • Sussex County – Cape Henlopen, Delmar, Indian River, Laurel, Seaford, Woodbridge and Sussex Tech Vo-Tech 

Charter Schools:

  • East Side Charter
  • Campus Community
  • MOT Charter
  • Prestige Academy

Social Studies

Public Schools:

  • Christina School District – Teaching American History Project
  • Red Clay School District – Teaching American History Project


Public Schools:

  • Appoquimink School District: Appoquinimink High School, Middletown High School
  • Brandywine School District:Brandywine High School, Concord High School, Mt. Pleasant High School
  • Christina School District: Christiana High School, Newark High School
  • Colonial School District: William Penn High School
  • Smyrna School District: Smyrna High School
  • Sussex Vocational Technical High School

Non-Public Schools:

  • Tatnall Upper School
  • Ursuline Academy

200 Academy Street · University of Delaware · Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302-831-1279
Fax: 302-831-2708