University of Delaware logo

Becoming a Partner

College School - Science Explorers

PDCE is designed to meet the professional development needs of the K-12 education community in the core subjects of English language arts, math, science and social studies, in instructional approaches (e.g., problem-based/project-based learning), and in social learning.

Our focus is on supporting teachers’ use of practices that support all students’ learning of the appropriate content standards.  We form partnerships with teachers to help them meet the challenges of educating all their 21 century learners.

We begin by acquiring information on your specific school, determining a Needs Assessment, Program Delivery, Goals and District Support. Based on these data, we plan your ongoing professional development experiences for Core Subjects or Instructional Practices.

We can help teachers diversify their instruction; align their curriculum and classroom instruction to standards; plan and implement instruction aligned with the new generation of assessments and instruction. We deliver information, co-plan and co-teach lessons and units of study, and coach in classrooms.

Cost

  • Partnership (8 days of onsite support in a single core subject) – $4,000
  • Workshops
    •         One topic - $575/day
    •         Two topics - $650/day

Recognizing the financial constraints schools and districts face, the PDCE engages in cost sharing, charging only for the days of direct contact with teachers and covering planning and follow-up days with Center funds.  Whenever possible, PDCE staff writes grants to cover staff costs and to support teacher stipends. They are available to help schools and districts write grants.

To become a Partner

For more information on developing a partnership, please contact:

English Language Arts
Delaware Reading and Writing Projects
Emily Amendum: eamendum@udel.edu

Mathematics
Dr. Thomas Fernsler: rafiki@udel.edu
Dr. Faith Muirhead: muirhead@udel.edu

STEM and K-12 Math & Science Partnership
Dr. Jon Manonjonmanon@udel.edu

Science
Dr. Amy Trauth-Nare: anare@udel.edu

Social Studies
American History Project
Dr. Francis O’Malleyfomalley@udel.edu

Project Based Learning
Frank Livoy:  livoy@udel.edu

Project CRISS
Dr. Deborah M. Fetzer: dmfetzer@udel.edu

Social Learning
Coteaching and Student Teaching Project
Linda Zankowsky:   lzankow@udel.edu

 

  • 200 Academy Street · University of Delaware · Newark, DE 19716
    Phone: 1-877- UD-TEACH
    Fax: 302-831-2708
    E-mail: dcte-inquiry@udel.edu